About the Government Services Union

The Government Services Union (GSU) was created at a merger convention in August 1999. We were previously known as Union of Public Works Employees and Supply and Services Union.

Our members are organized into 24 Locals across the country, representing most of the workers at Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC), as well as employees of Shared Services Canada, and the Royal Canadian Mint (RCM).

GSU’s national office is located in Ottawa and provides members, locals and elected officers with assistance and representation on grievances, staffing issues, disability and workers’ compensation claims as well as union/management consultation. We also provide financial and membership services to our locals.

GSU’s National Council, elected by and from local delegates at our triennial convention, is composed of 15 Regional Vice-Presidents, 3 National Vice-Presidents, (one 1 with the Equity portfolio), and the National President. The National Council meets annually.

GSU Building