GSU Internal Committees

National Council members, as well as some Local Presidents, participate on various internal committees that oversee important areas of interest for GSU.

The By-laws Committee oversees for the creation and maintenance of GSU by-laws, regulations and policies which are the set of rules that guide the Union. It makes recommendations on the creation or amendments of by-laws, regulations and policies to National Council and ensure that Local’s by-laws do not contravene GSU’s.

By-Laws Committee Members:

  • David Cunning, Regional Vice-President, Ontario (Chair)
  • Pascal Ladouceur, Regional Vice-President, NCR
  • Mélanie Hamel, Vice-President, Eastern Quebec
  • Sue Soubra Boone, Regional Vice-President, Ontario
  • Peter O’Neill, Local 60011 President
  • Kelly Votto, Local 50057 President

The Communications Committee oversees official GSU communications and make recommendations on communication issues to the National President. It also contributes to enhance the awareness of GSU by recommending communications initiatives to the National President.

Communications Committee Members:

  • Martine Babcook, National Vice-President (Chair)
  • Kevin Hanson, Regional Vice-President, NCR (Co-Chair)
  • Michelle Simard, Local 20008 President
  • Azra Jusuf, Local 00027 President

The Education Committee oversees GSU education activities. It also promotes current education programs and makes recommendations on education needs to National Council.

Education Committee Members:

  • Bruce Roy, National Vice-President (Chair)
  • Michèle Parent, Regional Vice-President, Western Quebec
  • Sheldon Jacobs, Local 40007 President
  • Kimberly Kimmins, Local XPW75 President
  • Leanne Moss, Local 90011 President
  • Chantal Umphrey, Local 30401 President

The Equity Committee supports the Pride Communities; Aboriginal Communities; Racially Visible Communities; Women; and Persons with Disabilities by promoting good communication and the exchange of information, by consulting with employers on Employment Equity Issues, by promoting education and training, by building coalitions with community-based groups engaged in human rights issues.

Equity Committee Members:

  • Kelly Bush, National Vice-President - Equity (Chair)
  • Shanny Doucet, Regional Vice-President, New-Brunswick & PEI
  • Sue Soubra-Boone, Regional Vice-President, Ontario
  • Reni Stein, Regional Vice-President, remainder of B.C. & Yukon
  • Larissa Williams, Regional Vice-President, Manitoba & Saskatchewan
  • Mohammed Abo El Ella, Local 700024 Equity Officer
  • Kamla Ishmael, Local 00027 member
  • Ayrin Proulx, Local 70013 Vice-President

The Financial Review Committee reviews all financial matters of the Union and makes recommendations on finance matters to National Council.

Financial Review Committee Members:

  • Martine Babcook, National Vice-President (Chair)
  • Linda Harding, Regional Vice-President, Lower B.C. including Vancouver
  • Nicole Rousseau, Regional Vice-President, NCR
  • Russel Carter, Local 60009 President
  • Steve Colterman, Local 70013 President

The Local Development Committee oversees the development of Locals as well as union activists.  It also develops initiatives to increase members’ mobilization and engagement and makes recommendations to the National Council and National President. 

Local Development Committee Members:

  • Shanny Doucet, Regional Vice-President, New Brunswick & PEI (Chair)
  • Jeanette Fillion, Regional Vice-President, Royal Canadian Mint
  • Reni Stein, Regional Vice President, remainder of BC and Yukon
  • Amélie Lamoureux, Local 10161 President
  • Debi Bannon, Local 00031 President

The Standing Discipline Committee investigates complaints of misconduct at the National Council level and appeals against discipline. Mandatory training is required for members of this Committee.

Standing Discipline Committee Members:

  • Martine Babcook, National Vice-President
  • Shanny Doucet, Regional Vice-President, New Brunswick & PEI

The Union Recognition Committee provides input, guidance and makes recommendations regarding the various awards and promotional items offered by GSU.

Union Recognition Committee Members:

  • Anthony Drozdowski, Regional Vice-President, Nova Scotia (Chair)
  • Heather Rawlins, Acting Regional Vice-President, Alberta & NWT
  • Monica Mercier, Local 70019 President

The Young Workers Committee is not officially in place yet. In November 2019, GSU will hold its first Young Workers Summit. The objective of this Summit will be to develop a clear mandate and terms of reference for the Young Workers Committee. GSU defines a Young Worker as anyone under the age of 35 years old.

Young Workers Committee Members:

  • Bruce Roy, National Vice-President (Mentor)
  • Kevin Hanson, Regional Vice-President, NCR
  • Larissa Williams, Regional Vice-President, Manitoba & Saskatchewan