About the Government Services Union

/About the Government Services Union
About the Government Services Union2018-11-02T13:27:00+00:00

The Government Services Union (GSU) was created at a merger convention in August 1999. We were previously known as Union of Public Works Employees and Supply and Services Union.

Our 8,000 members are organized into 29 Locals across the country, representing most of the workers at Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC), Shared Services Canada (SSC), and the Royal Canadian Mint (RCM).

Within PSPC, our members provide compensation, audit, procurement, disposal, telecommunications and informatics, translation, real property and receiver general services to some 100 federal government departments and agencies. They also provide information about government programs and research the opinions of Canadians.

Our members at the Royal Canadian Mint manufacture and distribute all of Canada’s circulation and collector coins and well as coins for other countries.

Our members at Shared Services Canada, a department created in 2011, help deliver email, data centre and telecommunication services to 43 federal departments and agencies.

We represent members in a broad range of job classifications, from trades, industrial and administrative employees at the RCM, to operational, technical and program and administrative employees within the Federal Public Service.

GSU’s national office is located in Ottawa and provides members, Locals and elected officers with assistance and representation on grievances, staffing issues, disability and workers’ compensation claims and union / management consultation. We also provide financial and membership services to our Locals.


GSU’s national office is located in Ottawa

Mailing Address

Government Services Union
705-233 Gilmour Street,
Ottawa, Ontario
K2P 0P2


Facts about Government Services Union

Year Created

GSU’s National Council, elected by and from Local delegates at our triennial convention, is composed of 16 Regional Vice-presidents, three National Vice-presidents, one of whom should have the Equity portfolio, and the National President. The National Council meets annually.